Saturday, August 21, 2021



THE VAMPIRE CHRONICLES - The Vampire Chronicles is a novel series including Interview with the Vampire (1976), The Vampire Lestat (1985), and The Queen of the Damned (1988), in a saga which stretches across 14 books total.  Lestat de Lioncourt, an 18th century French nobleman turned vampire, is the center of this universe. AMC revealed it had acquired rights to The Vampire Chronicles and Lives of the Mayfair Witches for developing film and television projects in 2020. When asked in an interview about her characters, Author Anne Rice said her vampires were a "metaphor for lost souls". 

Interview with the Vampire (1976)

Louis de Pointe du Lac recounts his supernatural transformation to an interviewer, from human to vampire. A fate inflicted upon him long ago, by Lestat de Lioncourt. The duo becomes a trio, when they make a vampire daughter together. The little family catches the latest show at the Théâtre des Vampires. Things don't go as planned, leading to ruin for one of them. 

The Vampire Lestat (1985)

Searching for his own origins and Marius de Romanus, Lestat de Lioncourt awakens Akasha, an ancient Egyptian vampire queen. She’s immobile but alive, resting for centuries in her hidden sanctuary. Later Lestat resurfaces in the modern world as rock star, only to find he's the subject of a book written about him.

The Queen of the Damned (1988)

Lestat has awakened Akasha - the first vampire and the vampire queen - with his rock music. After destroying her husband, the Queen kills vampires worldwide by using spontaneous combustion. She is herself destroyed by the vampire witch Mekare.

Related post:

The Vampire Chronicles by Anne Rice:

1.     Interview with the Vampire (1976)

2.     The Vampire Lestat (1985)

3.     The Queen of the Damned (1988)

4.     The Tale of the Body Thief (1992)

5.     Memnoch the Devil (1995)

6.     The Vampire Armand (1998)

7.     Merrick (2000)

8.     Blood and Gold (2001)

9.     Blackwood Farm (2002)

10.  Blood Canticle (2003)

11.  Prince Lestat (2014)

12.  Prince Lestat and the Realms of Atlantis (2016)

13.  Blood Communion: A Tale of Prince Lestat (2018)

#vladdracula #bramstokersdracula #hammerhorror #fangs #draculavlad #christopherlee #immortal #dracula #vampire #childrenofthenight #dracul #petercushing #belalugosi #vampires #castlevania #bramstoker #romania #nosferatu #boriskarloff #vampyre

No comments:

Post a Comment